News, Seat of Power

2020 MSMEs Awards holds Thursday, July 16

This year’s edition of the MSMEs Awards holds this week virtually as the Buhari administration continues to roll out palliatives and other supportive measures for small businesses in the country amid the fallouts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the economy.

The Secretariat of the National MSMEs Clinic which organizes the Awards started two years ago has concluded arrangements for the 2020 edition of the event scheduled for Thursday July 16th 2020.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, will be joined by State governors, honourable ministers, heads of Federal Government departments and agencies, and private sector partners amongst other stakeholders, at the virtual event.

Live broadcast of the 3rd edition of the Awards will start at 2 pm while guests including award recipients are expected to join from their respective locations across the country.

The National MSMEs Awards is an initiative of the National MSMEs Clinic Secretariat aimed at encouraging excellence, hard work and innovation in the sector.

Prizes will be won in 12 categories namely: MSME Award of Excellence in Agriculture; MSME Award of Excellence in Beauty, Wellness and Cosmetics; MSME Award of Excellence in Fashion & Style and MSME Award of Excellence in Creative Art.

Other categories include; MSME Award of Excellence in Leather works; MSME Award of Excellence in Manufacturing; MSME Award of Excellence in Technology Innovation and MSME Award of Excellence in Furniture & Woodwork.

Last year, Olutayo Ifeoluwa won a brand new car for the MSME of the year award while Norah Onwuasanya and Aminu Miko won the outstanding MSME participant in the female and male categories respectively. Anambra State was awarded for the most supportive MSME State.

Laolu Akande
Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media & Publicity
Office of the Vice President



About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.