News, People, What's Trending

African Union declares Lagos as the official host city of AFRIMA 2016

The African Union Commission (AUC) has announced Lagos State as the official Host City of the third edition of The All Africa Music Awards.

The announcement ceremony, which took place at Protea Hotel, GRA, Ikeja in Lagos on Monday August 15, 2016, amidst pomp, was attended by officials of the African Union; members of the international committee of AFRIMA; AFRIMA 2015 winners; top government functionaries; stakeholders in the creative/ entertainment industry in Africa, media executives, and musical artistes.

Formally declaring Lagos as the official city to host AFRIMA 2016 edition, the Head of Culture, African Union Commission, Ms. AngelaMartins posited that taking a decision on the Centre of Excellence was a herculean task because all the cities targeted were equal to the task in terms of infrastructure, tourism potential and richness of culture but Lagos State has an edge in key areas.

Prior to the prestigious occasion, AU had targeted four cities as potential hosts for the continental awards ceremony. These cities were: Calabar (Cross River State), Lagos (Lagos State), Port Harcourt (Rivers State) and Uyo (Akwa Ibom State).

Related Stories:



About the Author