Politics, Seat of Power

Ambode swears in commissioners and special advisers

AS ENCOMIUM Weekly wrote last week, the 23 commissioners and 13 Special Advisers confirmed by Lagos House of Assembly on Thursday, October 15, 2015, were sworn in on Monday, October 19, 2015, by the state governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode.  The new Commissioners and Special Advisers and their portfolios are as follows”

ABDULLATEEF ABDULHAKEEM is 48. He holds LL.B, LL.M and Ph.D degrees in Law from University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos. He is the Commissioner for Home Affairs.


SAMUEL ADEJARE, 54, a medical practitioner, a two-term member of Lagos House of Assembly and one term member of House of Representatives. He is the new Commissioner for the Environment.


BARRISTER KAZEEM ADENIJI is a lawyer.  He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science from University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos and LL.B (Hons.) from the same university.  He started out as a Tax and Regulatory Consultant with Arthur Anderson (now KPMG) before leaving to establish his own law firm. He is the new Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice.


HON. (MRS.) LOLA AKANDE is 56 and a former lawmaker.  She holds a Bachelor of Science in Botany and Masters in Public Administration.  A mother of three children and grandmother of three.  She is the new Commissioner for Women Affairs.


MRS. HUZAMAT AKINBILE is 41.  She holds a Bachelors of Science degree in Pharmacy from University of Lagos.  A mother of four boys, she is the Commissioner for Youth and Social Development.


MUSTAPHA ABIODUN AKINKUNMI holds degrees from the New York Institute of Technology, Old Westbury and Fordham University, Bronx, New York. He was once a consultant, financial advisor and business strategist with AT&T, Goldman Sachs, Phibro Energy, First Boston (Credit Suisse), World Bank and Central Bank of Nigeria. He is the Commissioner for Finance.


ENGR. ADEBOWALE OLAWALE AKINSANYA is 62.  He holds a B.Sc in Mining Engineering and M.Sc Civil Engineering from University of Missouri, Rolla, United States of America.  He is the Commissioner for Waterfront Infrastructure Development.


ABIOLA WASIU ANIFOWOSHE is 63. He holds a B.Sc and M.Sc degrees in Architecture from Howard University, United States of America. He also has Masters in City and Regional Planning from the same university.

A former civil servant in Lagos State, where he retired as General Manager, Urban Renewal Authority.  He is the Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Development.


AKINYEMI ASHADE is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria. He was before his appointment a Commissioner and partner at KPMG. He is the Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget.


STEVE AYORINDE is a journalist. He was the former Managing Director of National Mirror Newspaper and former Editor at The Punch Newspapers. He studied at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and University of Leicester, United Kingdom.  He is the new Commissioner for Information.


DAYO MOBEREOLA is the incumbent Managing Director, Chief Executive Officer of Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (LAMATA). He holds a Ph.D degree in Transport Economics from the University of Wales, Cardiff, United Kingdom. He is the Commissioner for Transportation.


OLUFEMI ADEBOYE ODUBIYI is 48. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Accounting and Finance from London Metropolitan University, London and Masters of Science degree in Information Systems Engineering from Southbank University.

Before his appointment as Commissioner for Science and Technology in Lagos State, he had worked as IT Director at Dangote Group and Airtel.


FOLARIN COKER is the erstwhile Special Adviser to the Governor in Central Business District (CBD), Managing Director, Lagos State Number Plate Production, Oshodi and Deputy Chief of Staff to Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, when he was governor. He is now the Commissioner for Tourism.


JIDE IDRIS is the Commissioner for Health in Lagos State since 2007. Before then, he was the Permanent Secretary in the same ministry since 2003. He will be retaining his position in the new cabinet.  He is 60.


ENGR. GANIYU JOHNSON has been the Special Adviser to the Governor on Works and Infrastructure since 2007.  Before then, he was the permanent secretary in the same ministry.

Now, he is the Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure.


PRINCE GBOLAHAN LAWAL is the former Commissioner for Agriculture and Cooperative.  Before then, he was Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Special Projects.  He was also at a time the Aide-de-Camp to Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, when he was the governor of Lagos State.

Now, he is the Commissioner for Housing.


BABATUNDE DUROSINMI-ETTI is 59.  He holds a B.Sc degree in Political Science and Masters in Public Administration from University of Lagos.  He has worked in NNPC and Eko Bank (later Skye Bank).


HON. OLUWATOYIN ISIAKA SUARAU is 52. He holds a B.Sc in Business Administration. He was a former member of House of Representatives and Chairman of Iba LCDA from 2004-2011.

He is the Commissioner for Agriculture and Cooperative.


HON. MUSILIU FOLAMI, the immediate Special Adviser to the Governor on Legislative and Political Matters and former member of Lagos House of Assembly is the new Commissioner for Local Governments.


AKINTOLA BENSON, a lawyer and a long time aide of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu is the Commissioner for Establishment and Training.


SEYE OLADEJO, a graduate of English from University of Ife, Ile-Ife. He was the immediate Special Adviser on Commerce and Industry. He was also the former Chairman of Mushin Local Government Council. He is now the Commissioner for Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Relations.

The Special Advisers are:

(1) Professor Ademola Abass, Special Adviser, Office of Overseas Affairs

(2) Mr. Kehinde Bamigbetan, Special Adviser, Community and Communications

(3) Mr. Fela Bank-Olemoh, Special Adviser, Education

(4) Mr. Agboola Dabiri, Special Adviser, Central Business District (CBD)

(5) Mr. Anofi Elegushi, Special Adviser, Transportation

(6) Mr. Tunde Hunpe, Special Adviser, the Environment

(7) Mr. Kehinde Joseph, Special Adviser, Civic Engagement

(8) Mr. Benjamin Olabinjo, Special Adviser, Commerce

(9) Mr. Seye Oladejo, Special Adviser, Special Duties

(10) Mrs. Yetunde Onabule, Special Adviser, Urban Development

(11) Mr. Deji Tinubu, Special Adviser, Sports

(12) Mrs. Mudirat Giwanson, Special Adviser, Housing

(13) Dr. Femi Onanuga, Special Adviser, Primary Healthcare

(14) Hon. Adebimpe Akinsola, Special Adviser, Arts and Culture


–              TOLANI ABATTI


Related Stories:



About the Author