Ambode wins Lagos APC primaries with 3,735 votes

At last, the votes in the Lagos All Progressives Congress governorship primaries have all been counted, and Akinwunmi Ambode has won by a landslide.

The 51 year old accountant beat the other 12 aspirants by 3,735 votes, about 62.23 per cent of the 6,000 votes.

And following most permutations, he has now emerged the party’s flag bearer.

The announcement came at 8:20. am of Friday, December 5, 2014, after almost a breath-taking 24 hour exercise.

The exercise, at Onikan Stadium,Lagos Island, began early yesterday morning, with accreditation kicking off at around 10 am.

In the primaries, Dr. Femi Hamzat came second with 1,201 votes; Senator Ganiyu Olanrewaju Solomon, 272 votes (3rd); Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiju, 182 votes (4th) ; Mr. Supo Sasore, 121 votes (5th); Dr. Leke Pitan, 112 votes (6th); Dr. Tola Kasali, 69 votes (7th); Mr. Tayo Ayinde, 17 votes (8th); Mr. Adekunle Disu, 9 votes (9th); Mr. Tokunbo Wahab, 7 votes (10th) ; Mr. Lanre Ope,  Mr. Abayomi Sutton and Mrs. Tokunbo Agbesanwa scored no votes . 

Related Stories:



About the Author