Seat of Power, What's Trending

Kachikwu now chairman of NNPC, removed as GMD

Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu is no longer the Group Managing Director of Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation. He is now the chairman, as a new GMD takes over.

Here is the statement from the Presidency announcing the change…

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

The new board is composed of the following:

  1. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
    B. Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
    C. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
    D. The following six persons:
  2. Mallam Abba Kyari
    2. Dr Thomas M.A John
    3. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
    4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
    5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
    6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”

Special Adviser
(Media and Publicity)
July 4, 2016


Related Stories:



About the Author