Cover Stories, News, People

Kanu Nwankwo opens floodgate of naira rain on Golden Eaglets

Ex-international, Kanu Nwankwo opened the floodgate of naira rain on the victorious Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets when he splashed $50,000 on the team as reward for their sterling performance at the cadet championship in United Arab Emirates. Kanu, who also hit limelight through the under-17 tournament, was with the team in Dubai, UAE till the final.

More cash rewards await the team as President Goodluck Jonathan hosted them on Sunday November 10, 2013.


Two Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets players carted home awards from the available ones from the tournament.

Kelechi Iheanacho went home with the Adidas Golden Ball and Adidas Silver Boot for Most Valuable Player in the tournament and for being the second highest goal scorer in UAE 2013. The most valuable goalkeeper of the tournament went to Dele Alampasu, while Nigeria’s team won the FIFA Fair Play Award.

1-20130620_FIFA-U17-World-Cup-UAE-2013-orgNIGERIA’S ROAD TO VICTORY

Group Stage Matches

Nigeria 6 vs Mexico 1

Nigeria 3 vs Sweden 3

Nigeria 5 vs Iraq 0

Second Round Match

Nigeria 4 vs Iran 1

Quarter Final Match

Nigeria 2 vs Uruguay 0

Semi Final Match

Nigeria 3 vs Sweden 0

Final Match

Nigeria 3 vs Mexico 0


The United Arab Emirates played host to 24 countries for the FIFA Under 17 World Cup for 23 days, Thursday, October 17 to Friday, November 8, 2013. Participants savoured the beautiful scenes of UAE with six stadia for the championship (Sheikh Khalifa International Stadium Al Ain, Al-Rashid Stadium, Dubai, Emirates Club Stadium, Ras Al-Khaimah, Fujairah Club Stadium, Fujairah, Sharjah Stadium Sharjah and Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi).

52 matches were played while 172 goals went into the net with Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets lifting the trophy for the fourth time.


Nigeria became the most successful country as Golden Eaglets lift the cadet trophy for the fourth time in history. The first time they won it was in the maiden edition in China in 1985. They were victorious again in 1993 in Japan, Nigeria won it for the third time in 2007 in Korea and the latest one being UAE 2013.

Mikel Obi

Mikel Obi


1. Nduka Ugbade

2. Victor Ikpeba

3. Kanu Nwankwo

4. Wilson Oruma

5. John Mikel Obi

6. Victor Igbinoba

7. Philip Osondu

8. White Agwuocha

9. Celestine Babayaro

10. Mohammed Aliyu

11. Sani Emmanuel

12. Terry Envoh

13. Omoh Ojabu

14. James Obiorah

28022013C-Golden-EagletsTHE GOLDEN BOYS

1. Dele Alampasu (GK) 16years – Football College Academy

2. Musa Muhammed (DF) 16years- FC Heart Academy

3. Samuel Okon (DF) 16years- Greater Tomorrow Academy

4. Akinjide Idowu (MF) 17years – Nath Boys Academy

5. Denis Nya (DF) 16years – Cannan Football Academy

6. Aliyu Abubakar (DF) 17years – Mutunchi Academy

7. Habib Makanjuola (MF) 14years- Chelsea of England

8. Abdullahi Alfa (MF) 17years – Football College Academy

9. Success Isaac (FW) 17years – BJ Foundation Academy

10. Kelechi Iheanacho (FW) 17years  – America

11. Musa Yahaya (MF) 15years – Mutunchi Academy

12. Chigozi Obasi (MF) 15years – Fosla Academy

13. Saviour Godwin (MF) 17years – El Kanemi Academy

14. Chidiebere Nwakali (DF) 16 years – Shuttle Spot Academy

15. Raymond Japhet (DF) 16 years – NFF Academy

16. Abdulazeez Abubakar (GK) 14years – Nath Boys Academy

17. Chidera Ezeh (FW) 16years – River Lane Academy

18. Taiwo Awoniyi (FW) 16years – Imperial Academy

19. Zaharaddeen Bello (DF) 15years – Dabo Babes Academy

20. Baba Salihu (MF) 16years – Rangers Academy

21. Francis Uzoho (GK) 14years – Aspire Academy


Related Stories:



About the Author