News, People, Seat of Power

Ogun guber primaries: APC declares Akinlade Winner

The Ogun State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has declared Hon. Adekunle Akinlade as winner of the party’s gubernatorial primaries held in all the 236 wards in the state, on Tuesday.
Chief Derin Adebiyi, the party’s chairman in the state, made the announcement at a press briefing,  held at the APC secretariat, Iyana Mortuary, Abeokuta, yesterday.
He said Akinlade defeated five other aspirants with total votes of 190,987, in the election held in the 20 Local Government Areas of the state.
The chairman gave the details of votes cast in favour of other aspirants as follows; Mr. Jimi Lawal (5,046), Chief Dapo Abiodun (3,648), Otunba Bimbo Ashiru (898), Alhaji Adegboyega Kaka (833) and Mr. Abayomi Hunye (208).
He said the result of the exercise, which was conducted in accordance with the election guidelines of the party and supervised by representatives of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and security agencies, was duly signed by all relevant agencies.
Adebiyi however disclosed that the National Working Committee (NWC) Monitoring Committee members for election in the state, refused to turn up, accusing them of being “highly compromised.”
He said after the members had earlier said they were ready for the election, all efforts to locate them were futile.
Adebiyi, who said the party’s constitution gives the state executive the responsibility to supervise the exercise,  added that “the Local Government and Ward committees were deployed to the 20 Local Governments and 236 wards of Ogun State to supervise the conduct of the  October 2, 2018 primaries in all the wards, using the Direct Primary Option.
He said members of the party were law abiding and peaceful all through the exercise.

Related Stories:



About the Author