Ajomale, Obanikoro and Adeniji-Adele’s sons lose House of Assembly bid

–  As PDP win 8 seats in Lagos House of Assembly

THE ambition of the sons of Chief Henry Ajomale, the Lagos Chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC) and that of Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, the Minister of State for External Affairs, to become members of Lagos House of Assembly, were dashed as they could not muster enough votes to win in their constituencies.

The son of Ajomale, Mr. Olayinka Ajomale, who contested the Oshodi/Isolo Constituency II seat on the platform of APC was defeated by Mr. Emeka Jude Idimogu of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).  Ajomale’s son got 25,727 votes against Emeka’s 27,433.

Senator Obanikoro’s son, Ibrahim who contested on the platform of PDP was defeated narrowly by Hon. Yishawu Olusegun Gbolahan of APC, the incumbent occupier of the seat.  Obanikoro’s son garnered a total vote of 9,510 while Hon. Yishawu Gbolahan garnered 9,782 votes.

Also Prince Ademola Adeniji-Adele’s son, Hon. Sultan Adeniji-Adele, who is the incumbent member representing Amuwo-Odofin Constituency I in the assembly, lost his bid to come back for second term.  He was defeated by Mr. Dipo Olorunrinu of PDP, who polled 13,580 votes against Adeniji-Adele’s 12,010 votes.

The heaviest casualty of the House of Assembly election in the state was Hon. Kolawole Taiwo, the deputy speaker and the longest serving member of the Assembly.  He lost his seat and his bid to come back for the fifth term to Mr. Adedayo Olufemi Famakinwa of PDP representing Ajeromi/Ifelodun Constituency I.

All Progressives Congress (APC) which has been dominating the Assembly in terms of membership since inception the Fourth Republic in 1999, lost four other seats, making it a total of eight lost to the opposition.

Other seats lost by APC to PDP includes Ajeromi/Ifelodun Constituency II.  The seat which is currently occupied by Hon. AbdouBaq Balogun of APC was lost to Mr. Oluiwa Olatunji Fatai of PDP.  The second seat from Amuwo Odofin Local Government Area was also lost to PDP.  Mr. Hakeem Bello of PDP defeated Hon. Ramota Akinola-Hassan, the incumbent occupier of the seat by 18,272 votes to 14,216.

Aside the son of Chief Henry Ajomale losing one of the Oshodi/Isolo LG Constituencies seat, the other seat, Oshodi/Isolo Constituency I, was also lost to the opposition.  Mr. Olukayode Ogundipe of the APC narrowly lost to Mr. Hakeem Shokunle of PDP by 17,479 to 17,125 votes.

Surulere Constituency II seat also went to the opposition, PDP.  Mr. Rotimi Mosunmola Sangodara of PDP clinched the seat from Mr. Abiodun Awobutu of APC with 33,583 to 32,767 votes respectively.

One common feature of this House of Assembly election is the fact that all the areas where PDP won their eight seats are areas mostly inhabited by non-Yoruba speaking people of the state.  These are Ajeromi/Ifelodun Local Government Area, Amuwo-Odofin Local Government Area, Ojo Local Government Area, Oshodi/Isolo Local Government Area and Itire-Ikate Local Government Area of Surulere.

So, for the first time in history of Lagos State, a non-Yoruba would be inaugurated as a member of Lagos State 8th Assembly session come June 2015.  His name is Jude Emeka Idimogu, a.k.a Abundance.  He is 44 and holds HND, B.Sc, ACA and MBA.


Related Stories:



About the Author