Cover Stories, Seat of Power, What's Trending

The presidential inauguration timeline

ACTIVITIES marking the inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari kicked off Friday, May 22, 2015 with Jumat Prayers at the National Central Mosque.

On Sunday, May 24 was a Farewell Inter-denominational Church Service held at the Villa.

The inauguration committee, according to the co-Chairman and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim planned a one-week programme of activity for the historic event.

They include press briefing, Jumat prayers, inter-denominational ‎church service, inauguration dinner, ‎swearing-in ceremony‎, lunch (immediately after the swearing-in ceremony) and a gala night‎, among others.

“We have accordingly created sub-committees ‎to focus on each activity. The co-chairmen and members of the sub-committees may now or later take their turns in briefing the public on their activities,” he said on April 23, 2015.

Members from the outgoing administration comprise the Chief of Defence‎, Air Chief Marshal, Alex Badeh; Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Minister of Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe; Minister of ‎Aviation, Osita Chidoka; Minister of Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke; Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Ayakenyi; and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali; Minister of Interior, Abba Moro.

Others are the representative of the Office of the National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile; the Inspector-General of Police; Minister of State Defence, Col. Austin Akobundu (retd.); Commander Brigades of Guards, Brig. Gen. A. B. Omozoje and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

Members of in-coming administration are former Bayelsa state Governor, Chief Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs. Abike Dabiri Erewa, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, ‎Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kawy Baraje, Sen. John Shagaya (retd), Hadiza Bala Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Tuntua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Mr. Babachir Lawal and Mr. Samson Osagie.

Related Stories:



About the Author