Politics, Seat of Power

Yakubu Dogara becomes Speaker House of Reps.

The House of Representatives has elected Hon.Yakubu Dogara (Bauchi) as new Speaker.
Hon.Dogara polled 182 votes to beat his closest rival,Hon.Femi Gbajabiamila (Surulere 1 Fed. Const.,Lagos )
who got 174 votes.

A total number of 358  votes were cast at the election concluded this evening.

The new Speaker and Gbajabiamila are members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Senate also, this morning, elected a former Governor of Kwara state,  Senator Bukola Saraki Senate President.

Senator Saraki was the ‘sole candidate’ of the APC.

Former Deputy Senate President,Senator Ike Ekweremadu was re-elected.


Related Stories:



About the Author