Cover Stories, Politics

APC tsunami sinks PDP in 19 states …Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Sokoto, Yobo and Zamfara

The All Progressives Congress (APC) literally crushed the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP), going by the results of the Governorship elections, so far released by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Winning in 19 states and leaving the crumbs of only six states (as at press time) to the PDP, the APC machine mowed the ruling party to the consternation of the world.

There were expectedly, pockets of protests and killings in a few states even as the results were being announced and collation taking place in few other states.

The first to be officially announced by INEC was Ogun state, where Governor Ibikunle Amosun of the APC defeated PDP’s Ganiyu Nasir Isiaka.

Amosun who was relected for a second termed, polled 306,988, while PDP’s Isiaka got 201,440 votes.

The Gboyega Nasir Isiaka Campaign Organisation, however rejected the result of the governorship poll, saying it was “unfortunate and a travesty staged to help the APC achieve victory.”

In the neigbouring Oyo State, Abiola Ajimobi, also of the APC, became the first governor of the state to clinch a second term in office.

He defeated former governors, Rashidi Ladoja of the Accord Party and Adebayo Alao-Akala of Labour Party in the keenly contested guber race.

While Ajimobi olled 327,310 votes; Ladoja had 254,520 and Alao-Akala ,  184,111.

APC’s candidate in Lagos, Akinwunmi Ambode, polled 811,994 votes to defeat PDP’s  Jimi Agbaje, who scored 659,788 votes.

Agbaje accepted defeat and congratulated Ambode though the state PDP rejected the result, citing  ‘controversial’ circumstances within which the elections were conducted in the state as reasons.

The media aide of the governor-elect, Idowu Ajanaku, told journalists that Agbaje called to congratulate Ambode at 6.50pm on Sunday.

“Mr. Jimi Agbaje called at exactly 6.50pm to congratulate Mr. Ambode. He prayed for Mr. Ambode and told him that he was looking forward to a more prosperous Lagos.”

Shortly after being declared winner, Ambode in his acceptance speech, extended his hand of fellowship to Agbaje by urging him to join in making Lagos a better place.

The governor-elect, who commended Agbaje for congratulating him , added that his government would not victimise those who voted against him.

He said, “To my main opponent, Mr. Jimi Agbaje of the PDP, I thank you for a keen contest and invite you, alongside other governorship candidates, to join hands with me in moving Lagos forward.”

Ambode also lauded  the people of the state for voting him and the APC, adding that by aligning Lagos with the centre, unprecedented development would come to the state.

He  gave special thanks to a former Governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and Governor Babatunde Fashola for believing in him.

Ambode said like former United States President, Abraham Lincoln, his government would be run “with malice toward none and with charity for all.”

In Sokoto and Kastina states,the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal, a former Speaker of the House, Aminu Masari as well as erstwhile Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nasir el-Rufai(Kaduna) were  also elected governors.

Hon. Aminu Masari of the APC polled 943,085 to dash the governorship hope of his PDP rival who got 476,768 votes.

APC’s Tambuwal humbled his brother-in-law and former boss with a landslide victory made possible by all of 647,609 votes. The PDP candidate got just 269,074 votes.

El-Rufai floored.

Governor Mukhtar Yero of the PDP. To emerge Governor, the APC canditate raked a whopping 1.117,635 votes to flush out Yero from Government House, Kaduna.

The other APC governorship election winners are Governor Abdulfatai Ahmed (Kwara), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Mohammed Abubakar (Bauchi), Ibrahim Geidam(Yobe) and Muhammadu Jibrilla Bindow (Adamawa).

Bindow handed Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission a shocking defeat.

Ribadu conceded defeat    when    results from  most of the LGAs showed that he was trailing behind in results from the LGAs. The governor-elect got 362,329, his closest rival, Markus Gundiri (SDP) cornered 138,028 while Ribadu came a distant third.

Ganduje, who is the current deputy governor of Kano State polled 1,546,434 votes. His PDP rival, Salihu Tokai had 509,726 votes.

The governorship candidate of the APC in Benue State, Samuel Ortom, raced to victory by polling 387,753 votes as against PDP’s  Terhemen Tarzoor, who scored 296,189 votes.

Also in Yobe, Governor Geidam scored 334, 847 votes to defeat  Adamu Waziri of the PDP,who had 179, 700 votes.

PDP’s candidates Udom Emmanuel,  Ibrahim Dankwambo, Dave Umahi, and Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi got consolation in Akwa Ibom,Gombe, Ebonyi, Enugu,Delta and Cross River states, respectively.

Umahi garnered 289, 867 votes as against Labour Party’s Edward Nkwegu, who came second with 124, 817 votes.

Ugwuanyi  polled 482,227 votes to defeat Okey Ezea of the APC, who got 43,839 votes.

Results from 16 out of 18 LGAs in Cross River State  showed that the PDP candidate, Ben Ayade, was leading clearly.

From the results announced as of 11pm on Sunday, Ayade secured 283, 549 votes, while the APC candidate,  Odey Ochicha and his Labour Party counterpart, Fidelis Ugbo, polled 52, 562 and 35, 848 respectively.

Imo State Governor and APC candidate, Rochas Okorocha, was  clearly in the lead before the election was declared inconclusive. His PDP counterpart and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha, was trailing behind.

State Returning Officer, Prof. Benjamin Ozumba didn’t announce Abia guber results by the evening of Monday April 13, but the PDP was already celebrating the ‘victory’ of Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu who had reportedly won in 15 of out the 17 Local Governments in the state.

The PDP lost, against favourable permutation in Plateau State as its candidate, GNS Pwajok was defeated by APC’s Simon Lalong.

As at Sunday night (April 12) Lalong scored 537,050 votes while Pwajok had 501,938 votes.

In Delta State, INEC on Monday, April 13, declared PDP’s  Mr Ifeanyi Okowa governor- elect. Okowa polled 724,680 votes to defeat Labour Party’s Chief Great Ogboru who managed to get 138,028 votes.Ogboru however, rejected the results,citing multiple irregularities.

There were earlier reports on Sunday that the APC had made history by producing the first elected female governor in Nigeria in the person of Jummai Aisha Alhassan of Taraba State. But by Monday, INEC declare Taraba election inconclusive.

Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State has also been declared winner of the governorship election in the state.

The returning officer for the election, Professor Yaganami Karta, said Kashim Shettima of the APC scored 690,183 to beat Gambo Lawan, his closest rival, of the PDP who polled 34,771.

Jigawa also fell to the APC. Its candidate Alhaji Abubakar Baderu garnered 648,045 while the PDP’s Aminu Ringim got 479,447 votes.

APC also won in Zamfara where its candidate Abdulaziz Yari got 716,964 to defeat PDP’s Mamuda Shinkafi who polled 201,938.

In Niger state, APC was also victorious with Abubakar Bello of APC polling 593,702 to hand his PDP rival, Alhaji Umaru Nasco a bitter defeat.Nasco got 239,772 votes.

One of the last set of results INEC filled in on Monday was that of Rivers state. Here the PDP candidate, Chief Nyesom Wike floored his APC rival, Hon Dakuku Peterside. Wike raked in all of 1,029 votes which is a heavy defeat to Peterside’s insignificant 124,896 votes.

More results were still being expected as at press time.




About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.