Music, What's Trending

Kunle Afolayan’s October 1 leads with 9 trophies at Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards 2015

…Rita Dominic’s The Meeting clinches 5 diadems

Kunle Afolayan’s October 1 led the winners list at Saturday, March 7, 2015, edition of Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (at Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos) with 9 trophies, while Rita Dominic’s The Meeting took home 5 of the awards.

October 1 won in the Best Movie, Best Actress, Best Movie Director, Best Art Director, Best Drama Writer, Best Costume Designer, Best Lighting Designer, Best Make-up Artist and Best Sound Editing categories.

The Meeting took home the awards for Best Comedy, Best Supporting Actress, Best Actor in Comedy, Best Actress in Comedy and Best Comedy Writer.

Here are the winners in all the categories…


Best Art Director

Pat Nebo – October 1


Best Television Series



Best Make-Up Artist

Sacred by Lola Maja – October 1


Best Comedy Writer

Tunde Babalola – The Meeting


Best Drama Writer

Tunde Babalola – October 1


Best Cinematographer

Stanlee Ohikhuare – Verdict


Best Documentary

The Gift to the Nile -Yvonne Bassey


Best Lighting Designer

Lanre Omofaye – October 1


Best Short Film

Oblivious – Kiki Omeili


Best Indigenous Language – Hausa

Bincike – Hafizu Bello/Abubakar Bashir


Best Indigenous Language – Yoruba

Iya Alalake – Fathia Balogun


Best Indigenous Language – Igbo

Onye Ozi (The Messenger) – Obi Emelonye


Best Indigenous Language – Swahili

Veve – Srika Hemi Lakhani


Best New Media – Online

Hard Times – Imoh Umoren


Best Supporting Actor

Blossom Chukwujekwu – Knocking on Heaven’s Door


Best Supporting Actress

Linda Ejiofor – The Meeting


Best Video Editor

Victoria Akujobi – Reflections


Best Movie

October 1 – Kunle Afolayan


Industry Merit Award

Amaka Igwe


Best Movie (Comedy)

The Meeting – Winner


Best Movie (Drama)

A place in the Stars – Steve Gukas


Best Actor in a Drama

OC Ukeje – Secret Room


Best Actress in a Drama

Kehinde Bankole – October 1


Best Actress in a Comedy

Rita Dominic – The Meeting


Best Actor in a Comedy

Femi Jacobs – The Meeting


New Era Award

Ayo Makun (AY) – 30 Days in Atlanta


Best Movie Director

Kunle Afolayan – October 1


Best Costume Designer

Deola Sagoe/Obijei Oru – October 1


Best Sound Editing

October 1 – Kulanen Ikyo…



About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.